Important Links

Important Links

Aging Organizations and General Interest

AARP   www.aarp.org
Administration on Aging   www.aoa.gov
AgeNet Eldercare Network   www.agenet.com
AGS Foundation for Health in Aging   www.healthinaging.org
American Geriatrics Society  www.americangeriatrics.org
American Society on Aging   www.asaging.org
Benefits Check Up   www.benefitscheckup.org
Boomerater    www.boomerater.com
Eldercare Locator   www.eldercare.gov
Federal Consumer Information Center   www.pueblo.gsa.gov
FirstGov for Seniors   www.seniors.gov
Gerontological Society of America   www.geron.org
Global Action on Aging   www.globalaging.org
National Association of Area Agencies on Aging   www.n4a.org
National Council on the Aging   www.ncoa.org
National Hispanic Council on Aging    www.nhcoa.org
National Institute on Aging    www.nia.nih.gov
SeniorDiscounts.com    www.seniordiscounts.com
SeniorJournal.com    www.seniorjournal.com
The Seniors Coalition    www.senior.org

Caregiving and Support Services

AARP Caregiving www.aarp.org/family/caregiving
Ask Medicare www.medicare.gov/caregivers
Cancer Care www.cancercare.org
Care Community www.mycarecommunity.org
Catholic Charities USA www.catholiccharitiesusa.org
Children of Aging Parents www.caps4caregivers.org
Daily Money Managers www.aadmm.com
Eldercare Locator www.eldercare.gov
Family Caregiver Alliance www.caregiver.org
Family Caregivers Online www.familycaregiversonline.com
Family Caregiving 101 www.familycaregiving101.org
Gilbert Guide www.gilbertguide.com
Lotsa Helping Hands www.lotsahelpinghands.com
National Adult Day Services Association www.nadsa.org
National Alliance for Caregiving www.caregiving.org
National Association of Home Care & Hospice www.nahc.org
National Association of Professional Geriatric Care Managers www.caremanager.org
National Association of Area Agencies on Aging www.n4a.org
National Family Caregivers Association www.nfcacares.org

Finances and Retirement

AARP Tax-Aide www.aarp.org/money/taxaide
AARP: Reverse Mortgages www.aarp.org/money/revmort
Bankrate.com www.bankrate.com/brm/default.asp
Choose to Save www.choosetosave.org
Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards www.cfp-board.org
Civic Ventures www.civicventures.org
Daily Money Managers www.aadmm.com
Financial Literacy and Education Commission www.mymoney.gov
Financial Planning Association plannersearch.org
Independent Information on Reverse Mortgages www.reverse.org
Internal Revenue Service www.irs.gov
Kiplinger.com www.kiplinger.com
Motley Fool www.fool.com
MsMoney.com www.msmoney.com
National Association of Personal Financial Advisors napfa.org
National Association of Unclaimed Property Administrators www.unclaimed.org
National Reverse Mortgage Lenders Association www.reversemortgage.org
Retire Early Home Page www.retireearlyhomepage.com
Retire to Enjoy www.retire2enjoy.com
Setting Priorities for Retirement Years www.spry.org
Social Security Retirement Planner www.socialsecurity.gov/retire2/
Pension and Welfare Benefits Administration www.dol.gov/ebsa
Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation www.pbgc.gov
Tax and Accounting Sites Directory www.taxsites.com/state.html
Too Young to Retire www.2young2retire.com
Veterans Administration www.va.gov
Women’s Institute for a Secure Retirement www.wiser.heinz.org

Government Resources and Assistance

Administration on Aging www.aoa.gov
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality www.ahrq.gov
AgingStats.Gov www.agingstats.gov
Alliance for Retired Americans www.retiredamericans.org
BenefitsCheckUp – find government programs and services www.benefitscheckup.org
ClinicalTrials.gov clinicaltrials.gov
Consumer Product Safety Commission www.cpsc.gov/cpscpub/pubs/older.html
DisabilityInfo.gov www.disabilityinfo.gov
Eldercare Locator www.eldercare.gov
Federal Citizen Information Center www.info.gov
Federal Trade Commission: Consumer Protection www.ftc.gov/ftc/consumer.htm
FirstGov for Seniors www.seniors.gov
Food and Drug Administration www.fda.gov
Food Stamps for the Elderly Resource www.frac.org/html/news/fsp/fselderlycenter.htm
National Academy on an Aging Society www.agingsociety.org
National Active and Retired Federal Employees Association www.narfe.org
National Association of State Units on Aging www.nasua.org
National Council on Aging www.ncoa.org
National Institute on Aging www.nih.gov/nia
National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism www.niaaa.nih.gov
Medicare www.medicare.gov
Railroad Retirement Board www.rrb.gov
Resource Directory for Older People www.nia.nih.gov/healthinformation/resourcedirectory.htm
Social Security www.socialsecurity.gov
State and Area Agencies on Aging www.aoa.gov/eldfam/How_To_Find/Agencies/Agencies.asp
State Medicaid Offices cms.hhs.gov/medicaid/allstatecontacts.asp
Veterans Administration www.va.gov

General Health and Medical Care

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality www.ahrq.gov
American Academy of Dermatology www.aad.org
American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons www.aaos.org
American Cancer Society www.cancer.org
American Diabetes Association www.diabetes.org
American Foundation for Urologic Diseases www.afud.org
American Heart Association www.americanheart.org
American Heart, Lung, Blood Institute www.nhlbi.nih.gov
American Hospital Association www.aha.org
American Lung Association www.lungusa.org
American Menopause Foundation www.americanmenopause.org
American Medical Association www.ama-assn.org
American Nurses Association www.nursingworld.org
American Occupational Therapy Association www.aota.org
American Osteopathic Association www.osteopathic.org
American Parkinson Disease Association www.apdaparkinson.org
American Physical Therapy Association www.apta.org
American Physical Therapy Association, Section on Geriatrics www.geriatricspt.org
American Podiatric Medical Association www.apma.org
American Stroke Association www.strokeassociation.org
Arthritis Foundation www.arthritis.org
American Vascular Association www.vascularweb.org
BrightFocus Foundation www.brightfocus.org
Center for Disease Control and Prevention www.cdc.gov
Clinical Trials www.clinicaltrials.gov
Diabetes Mall www.diabetesnet.com
DisabilityInfo.gov www.disabilityinfo.gov
Epilepsy Foundation www.efa.org
Flu Shot Locator www.findaflushot.com
Harvard Medical School Family Health Guide: Health of Seniors www.health.harvard.edu/fhg/fhgupdate/V/V1.shtml
Health and Age Centers www.healthandage.com
Health Assistance Partnership www.healthassistancepartnership.org
Health Grades www.healthgrades.com
Hill-Burton Free Health Care www.hrsa.gov/hillburton
Huntington’s Disease Society of America www.hdsa.org
Infoaging.org www.infoaging.org
International Tremor Foundation www.essentialtremor.org
Intercultural Cancer Council: Elderly and Cancer www.iccnetwork.org/cancerfacts/cfs10.htm
Johns Hopkins Health After 50 www.hopkinsafter50.com
Legs for Life www.legsforlife.org
Leukemia and Lymphoma Society www.leukemia-lymphoma.org
Life Line Screening www.lifelinescreening.com
Lupus Foundation of America www.lupus.org
Mayo Clinic Senior Health Center www.mayoclinic.com
Medical Billing Advocates www.billadvocates.com
MEDLINEplus Health Information www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus
My Family Health Portrait www.hhs.gov/familyhistory
National Association for Continence www.nafc.org
National Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Disease Information Clearinghouse www.niams.nih.gov/hi
National Cancer Institute www.cancer.gov
National Center for Complementary and Alt. Medicine www.nccam.nih.gov
National Diabetes Education Program www.ndep.nih.gov
National Digestive Diseases Information Clearinghouse digestive.niddk.nih.gov
National Health Information Center healthfinder.gov
National Heartburn Alliance www.heartburnalliance.org
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute www.nhlbi.nih.gov
National Institutes of Health www.nih.gov
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases www3.niaid.nih.gov
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke www.ninds.nih.gov
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism www.niaaa.nih.gov
National Institute on Drug Abuse www.nida.nih.gov
National Kidney and Urological Diseases kidney.niddk.nih.gov
National Kidney Foundation www.kidney.org
National Multiple Sclerosis Society www.nmss.org
National Organization for Rare Disorders www.rarediseases.org
National Osteoporosis Foundation www.nof.org
National Pain Foundation www.painconnection.org
National Rehabilitation Information Center www.naric.com
National Stroke Association www.stroke.org
National Women’s Health Network www.nwhn.org
National Women’s Health Resource Center www.healthywomen.org
NIHSeniorHealth Health Information for Older Adults nihseniorhealth.gov
Medicare Hospital Compare hospitalcompare.hhs.gov
Office of the Surgeon Genera www.surgeongeneral.gov
Osteoporosis and Related Bone Diseases – National Resource Center www.osteo.org
Paget Foundation www.paget.org
Patient Advocate Foundation www.patientadvocate.org
Subimo myhealthcareadvisor.com
Vitals (doctor research site) www.vitals.com
WebMD www.webmd.com

Mental Health, Alzheimer’s and Dementia

Alzheimer’s Association www.alz.org
Alzheimer’s Disease Education and Referral Center www.alzheimers.org
Alzheimer’s Information Site www.alzinfo.org
American Association for Geriatric Psychiatry www.aagpgpa.org
American Counseling Association www.counseling.org
American Psychological Association Office on Aging www.apa.org/pi/aging
Institute for Brain Aging and Dementia www.alz.uci.edu
National Center on Elder Abuse www.elderabusecenter.org
National Institute of Mental Health www.nimh.nih.gov
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke www.ninds.nih.gov
National Mental Health Association www.nmha.org
National Strategy for Suicide Prevention: Suicide Among the Elderly www.mentalhealth.org/suicideprevention/elderly.asp

Insurance

American Association for Long-Term Care Insurance www.aaltci.org
COBRA www.dol.gov/dol/topic/health-plans/cobra.htm
eHealthInsurance – health insurance policy finder www.ehealthinsurance.com
Families USA www.familiesusa.org
Health Assistance Partnership www.healthassistancepartnership.org
Health Insurance Consumer Guide www.healthinsuranceinfo.net
Health Insurance Association of America www.ahip.org
HSA Insider – Health Savings Account finder www.hsainsider.com
Insure.com – free insurance quotes www.insure.com
Kaiser Family Foundation www.kff.org
Long-Term Care Financial Partners www.ltcfp.com
Long Term Care Insurance Information Page www.ltc-info.com
Long-Term Care Quote www.ltcq.net
Medical Billing Advocates www.billadvocates.com
National Association of Insurance Commissioners www.naic.org/state_contacts/sid_websites.htm
Patient Advocate Foundation www.patientadvocate.org
State Health Insurance Assistance Program (SHIP) – free health insurance counseling to people with Medicare www.shiptalk.org
TRICARE, Military Health System www.tricare.osd.mil
Veterans Health Administration: Health Benefits and Services www1.va.gov/health_benefits
Viatical and Life Settlement Association of America www.viatical.org

Legal Issues and Resources

AARP Legal Services Network www.aarp.org/lsn
American Bar Association www.abanet.org/aging/statemap.html
Association for Protection of the Elderly www.apeape.org
Consumer Product Safety Commission: Older Consumers Safety Publications www.cpsc.gov/cpscpub/pubs/older.html
Elder Law Answers www.elderlawanswers.com
Federal Trade Commission Identity Theft Resource Center www.idtheftcenter.org
Fighting Fraud Against Older Consumers www.fraud.org/elderfraud/elderfraud.htm
Senior Legal Hotlines www.legalhotlines.org
Legal Services www.lsc.gov
National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys www.naela.com
National Center on Elder Abuse www.elderabusecenter.org
National Committee for the Prevention of Elder Abuse www.preventelderabuse.org
National Senior Citizens Law Center www.nsclc.org
Nolo Law Center: www.nolo.com
Pension Rights Center www.pensionrights.org
U.S. Department of Labor: Equal Employment Opportunity www.dol.gov/dol/topic/discrimination/index.htm
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission www.eeoc.gov/types/age.html
Wills.com www.wills.com

Medicare, Medicaid, and Social Security

Medicare www.medicare.gov
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services www.cms.hhs.gov
Medicare Rights Center www.medicarerights.org
State Health Insurance Assistance Program – free health insurance counseling to people with Medicare www.shiptalk.org
State Medicaid Offices cms.hhs.gov/medicaid/allstatecontacts.asp
Social Security www.socialsecurity.gov
Railroad Retirement Board www.rrb.gov

Older Drivers and Transportation

AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety www.seniordrivers.org
AARP Driver Safety Program www.aarp.org/drive
American Medical Association Older Driver Safety www.ama-assn.org/ama/pub/category/8925.html
American Public Transportation Association www.apta.com
American Occupational Therapy Association www.aota.org/olderdriver
Association for Driver Rehabilitation Specialists www.driver-ed.org
Beverly Foundation www.beverlyfoundation.org
Community Transportation Association www.ctaa.org
Easter Seals Transportation Solutions for Caregivers www.easterseals.com/site/PageServer?pagename=ntl_trans_care
HowsMyDriving.com http://howsmydriving.com/drive4life.nsf
I DRIVE SAFELY Mature Driver Improvement http://mature.idrivesafely.com
Mature Driver Course Online www.maturedrivercourseonline.com
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Older Driver Safety www.nhtsa.dot.gov/people/injury/olddrive
Older Drivers www.drivers.com/topic/10
Transit Resource Guide for Older Adults www.apta.com/research/info/briefings/briefing_3.cfm
The Hartford Financial Services Group and MIT AgeLab – How to Talk with Older Drivers www.thehartford.com/talkwitholderdrivers
U.S. Licensing Renewal Procedures for Older Drivers www.iihs.org/laws/state_laws/older_drivers.html